top of page

My interview with Noah James

What originally got you interested in acting?

I started theater in high school and fell in love with the community, the people, rehearsals... but I didn't know I wanted to be an actor until my junior year.

I put a lot of work into a play we did, "Jake's Women" by Neil Simon. I was on stage the whole performance, and that's when I realized that I really loved the process of acting, and creating life on stage!

What do you like and hate about being a VA?

I don't hate anything about it because it's only one facet of the acting that I do, so only positive things from being able to expand into VA.

I love that with recording, there's no "reset" needed to go back over something, you just immediately go back to where you need to and begin again. In that way, it feels like it flows very easily.

Also, I almost never shower before recording in the morning....so, easier for me, less so for everyone in the room with me.

How did you end up playing Ben Arnold in King Falls AM?

I worked with Kyle and Eric a few years before King Falls on a web series called "In Development". I LOVED it, and knew I wanted to work with them again. They pitched the podcast to me....and I was like, "uhh.....yeah alright."

Clearly I didn't know what I was getting into, so I'm very thankful they asked me!

What are your favorite things about Ben Arnold?

I love his temper, and how deeply he cares (about garbage bears).

Do you associate yourself with Ben Arnold's personality?

Not really, no. If I were on the in King Falls, I would probably be THE DARK. BE AFRAID (OF IT). I have been known to yell at people for littering.

If you had a chance to play another character in King Falls AM, who would it be?

Besides The DARK, I think HFBIII is pretty wonderful.

How do you get into character?

Honestly, I've been playing Ben for two years now, he's there for me. Every once in a while, I'll just say "424-279-3858" and I'm right back.

What major problems and challenges did you face getting into character?

Every once and a while I'll turn to Eric and Kyle and just say, "So....so wait -- how do I feel about this? Oh, ok, got it, I hate it, ok I'M THERE NOW WE GOT IT. FKYN....GARBAGE BEARS."

What advice would you give someone who wants to be a VA?

Take class, work on your voice, start acting in stuff, do plays. If you have a really versatile voice, like Trent does for our show, study all the accents you can, keep your ears open to the different sounds people have!

Do you listen to any other podcasts?

I do! I didn't until we started King Falls AM, but I'm so glad I've been brought into the podcast world.

I love Hardcore History by Dan Carlin. I also listen to Lore, and I think everyone at Hello From The Magic Tavern is super talented.

I've been at the gym cry-giggling into the water fountain because of the Usidore song in Season 1.

For more information, you can find Noah James on Twitter and IMDB.

You can also catching him playing Ben Arnold in King Falls AM.

bottom of page